"Memebers" of Palace Resorts??

Jul 18th, 2002, 11:23 AM
Posts: n/a
"Memebers" of Palace Resorts??

Can anyone explain to me what it means to be a "member" of the Palace Resorts??

I've found some websites that state that they are members/owners of the Palace Resorts and therefore pass the savings to the customer.

In another post on this board somebody mentioned booking thru a "member" for the best price, and I have indeed found cheaper rates thru these members, but for my own peace of mind i wanted to know how it works and that everything is "above board" and legit.

Thanks for any insight anybody can offer.
Jul 18th, 2002, 11:45 AM
Posts: n/a
My guess is it is a Vacation Club "Timeshare Ownership" and since it is difficult for an owner to rent out you can usually do better price point wise.
There is a web site for owners www.tug2.net
that is for members you can inquire there. I am sure you would want to make sure what they are renting they own and that you can get confirmation paperwork verifying the week you paid them for you will get. That is the best I can do. Another site
www.tradingplaces.com has good deals for rentals.

Jul 18th, 2002, 02:48 PM
Posts: n/a
Here is a website and they have a toll free number which you can call. I'm sure they can explain how it works, what is expected, and how much it cost.

Apparently this is a common occurrence in Cancun. If you want to do your homework you will be able to find many "travel websites", not necessarily travel agents, who will sell you members points. Good luck !
Jul 20th, 2002, 01:31 PM
Posts: n/a
We always book through memebrs when we stay at the Palace Resorts, it is cheaper, you get more for your money,and you get treated like VIP.
The people we book through bought a timeshare to the Palace Resorts, they don't sell you their weeks, they just book your rooms at their member rates, which we found include more perks, and it is chepaer than booking anywhere else, plus you get a person who cares about your trip, and plans everything out very well with you, we love it!

Here is the website we go through
Jul 20th, 2002, 07:43 PM
Posts: n/a
OK, i'm pretty sure everything seems above board with this "member", but has anybody heard of any scams or advice on things to look out for to make sure you're dealing with somebody legitimate?

Jul 22nd, 2002, 09:20 AM
Posts: n/a
Just ask them for their member number and call the Palace Resorts booking office to be sure, if they are truly members they will have no problem giving you this info.

Jul 22nd, 2002, 10:55 AM
Posts: n/a

Thanks, they post their number and all that info on their website (as well as a link to the BBB, of which they are a member).

I've just never gone thru this process before (renting thru a timeshare owner) so this business with calling using somebody else's membership number, sending payment to two different places, etc. is unique to me.

I also think i'm gettting a great deal, so i want to make sure i'm getting everything others are, so that i'm comparing "apples to apples."

It sounds like everything is going as expected, compared to what i'm learning the "process" entails.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy -


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:47 PM.