Notices

CPI in June/July?

Old Feb 19th, 2008, 03:32 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CPI in June/July?

I'm brand new to this forum - I'm a middle school teacher wanting to study Spanish in CR this summer. After some looking around on the web, it looks like CPI is highly recommended by many people. It seems expensive compared to other schools, though. Is it worth it?

A couple other questions: I'm a single woman in my 30s traveling alone, and my Spanish is pretty limited at present. I've traveled a bit in Central / South America, but never by myself, so I'm quite nervous about this trip, especially the homestay. Can anyone offer some encouragement / wisdom re: the homestay experience when you don't speak much Spanish yet?

I'm thinking about 2 weeks in Heredia and the last week at the Flamingo campus (I'd probably try to stay in one of their studio apts that last week). Has anyone studied at the Flamingo campus in the summer? Is it too hot to concentrate in the classrooms in June / July?

Also, does anyone know how easy it is to arrange tours to MA and Arenal on the weekends? Something on the CPI site sounded like the tours they'll arrange for you only go if enough people sign up - is that like to be a problem?

I'd be glad for any advice re: CPI / language study, etc. I'm almost ready to sign up - just haven't quite committed yet.

Thanks for your help!
Old Feb 19th, 2008, 07:25 PM

My daughter and I have done a total of 15 weeks with CPI, always with the same family. They are friends of ours, wonderful people whom we regularly visit even when not studying. We've known them for 5 years.