Buenos Aires Jan-Feb. '07

Old Nov 24th, 2006, 07:33 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buenos Aires Jan-Feb. '07

Mature solo female traveler headed to BA for 5 weeks. Need info on host families, hostels, cheap but safe hotels. Also want to take tango lessons - any tips? What about safety at night for unaccompanied women? anyone done the BA-Santiago-Bariloche-BA circuit? Thanks for help!
Old Nov 25th, 2006, 02:12 PM

The Bariloche crossing takes about 12 hours with a combination of bus and boat transport; everyone says it is tiring but worth it for the views. I took over 600 photos on my trip (not including some that I deleted). I did not personally do this but spoke to others who did (I was there on an Elderhostel package that was in Chile only). Someone mentioned using a travel agency called Wow Argentina to arrange their itinerary for them. They said they did a good job. Obviously, I have no personal experience with this company.

Santiago is very nice and has a European feel to it. We did not, however, spend much time there, as the focus of the package was elsewhere. We did visit Valparaiso--much more scenic than Santiago itself. We also covered Temuco, the Lakes, and Puerto Montt before boarding Skorpios II for the trip to the Glacier San Rafael. Then we returned to Santiago for our last day.

Our trip was run by the Experiment in International Living (not just for kids anymore). They did a great job. Some of the experiences--such as the wonderful lunch with the Mapuche native people--you could not organize yourselves. Some things, of course, I could have done solo just as easily.

Buses in Chile cover the country. Of course, I did not go to Argentina and cannot comment on the situation there.
Old Nov 25th, 2006, 02:24 PM