Whew, I have a tenative plan.

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 30th, 2010, 07:38 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok, after weeks of reading posts, research and planning, I think I have come up with a plan. I am new to Fodors travel, but you are a wealth of information. Now, to the expertise of you wonderful locals. Please feel free to critique and refine as you see there is a need, as my only items set in stone are the airline tickets.
Fri Sept 10-arrive Edinburgh mid morning. Pick up rental car at airport-any ideas, pro or con on which company? Head out towards the M9 and Falkirk wheel. Then up the M80 to rejoin M9 and stop at Stirling Castle. Out again to the A9 to Scone Palace, then up to Pitlochry for the night. I know this will be a long day, but don’t see how I can avoid it.
Sat. Sept 11-lazy day and highland games in Pitlcohry
Sun. Sept 12-Head out towards Inverness. Stop at Queen’s view, Blair Castle, possible Falls of Bruar, and the Highland Folk Museum in Newtonmore, Cawdor Castle and into Inverness.
Mon. Sept 13- Visit the Loch Ness exhibition center and Culloden battlefield. Anything else?
Tues. Sept 14-Head down A82 towards Skye. Stop at Eileen Donan Castle, visit village of Plockton, staying in Uig.
Wed. Sept 15-touring Skye, Dunvegan Castle, Inverewe Gardens, and Skye Museum of Island Life, anything else of note?
Thurs. Sept 16-Off of Skye at the Armadale Ferry to Maillaig, down the A830 to Fort William. Stop and see the Glenfinnan Viaduct, the Ben Nevis Distillery, Loch Arkaig and Eas Waterfalls.
Fri. Sept 17- Up and out the A828 to the Sea life Sanctuary, side trip to Oban, out the A85 to Inveraray. Possibly stop at the Falls of Lora, Inverawe Smokehouse, Kilchurn Castle.
Sat. Sept 18-Leisurely day from Inveraray to Ayr. Possibly stop at Bemore Botanic Gardens and on to Burns National Heritage Park.