COVID-19 Travel Advisory: Stay up to date with the latest on the coronavirus pandemic.   Learn More >

Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

What cities should I visit in Spain? Choosing the right Spain tour.....

Old Jan 30th, 2011, 07:47 AM
Original Poster

Hello,

I wanted to travel to Egypt but due to the political chaos, I have decided to book a tour to Spain. Do you recommend Spain? I am trying to decide which tour to choose:

- Barcelona, Bilbao, and Madrid.
- Seville, Madrid, and Cordoba
- Barcelona, Madrid, Seville, Granada, Valencia, and Cordoba
- Madrid, Morocco, Lisbon (Portugal), Torremolinos, Granada, and Seville

Which one is the best itinerary? This is my first time visiting Spain. I enjoy scenic views and shopping when I travel. I had spoken to my old boss and he said that I should definitely do a Spain tour that includes Barcelona. Do you agree?

Thanks
Old Jan 30th, 2011, 07:57 AM

I would leave out Morocco and probably Lisbon because of probable time constraints. The same applies to your third choice which covers more territory than the first two. Without knowing the time frame, it would be difficult to be more specific.
Old Jan 30th, 2011, 08:41 AM

How long do you have for the trip in total?
Is there a reason why you need to book a tour versus going on your own?
Old Jan 30th, 2011, 11:45 AM

Yes, I highly recommend Spain as it is a great country with terrific culture, history, food, sights, etc.

Are all the tours you mentioned approximately the same length? I agree with Michael about leaving out Morocco and Lisbon. They're great countries but there's more than enough to see and do in Spain to devote a whole trip to it.