We are so excited to travel to London!!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 14th, 2008, 06:16 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, My 15 year old son and I are planning a trip to London and Paris from the US the last week of March. We have about 9 days and would like to spend a few days in London and then take the Eurostar to Paris for a few days. Would anybody be able to recommend an area to stay in for each city that would allow us to maybe catch an on and off bus or walk to visit all the touristy spots? We do have a budget but that is OK as we are just excited to be able to go. Probably would like to find something for about $150usd/night. Could go a little more if the logistics make it worthwhile. Neither of us has ever been to Europe.

I have used this site so many times over the years to plan vacations and find it is so full of great and accurate information! This is my first posting. I'm comfortable planning in the US but since I have no experience in Europe I would be grateful for some help.

Happy New Year, Fodorites!

Old Jan 15th, 2008, 02:55 AM

If you do a search on London you will find millions of threads similar to yours.

It is hard to say what is a "good area" as they vary - and we would need to know more about what sort of things you like or are looking for.
Old Jan 15th, 2008, 03:13 AM

There's no one area where you can walk to see all the touristy places - well you could but you'd end up doing a route march

And $150 is a bit on the low side especially as you want to book for the 2nd week of Easter when half the schools in Europe are on holiday.

But do check out the Travelodge chain and the reviews of hotels on Tripadvisor
Old Jan 15th, 2008, 03:31 AM

And to help any future readers, here's a link to your other thread, which also has some useful answers:

http://www.fodors.com/forums/pgMessa...p;tid=35101072
Old Jan 15th, 2008, 03:49 AM