Visa Requirement

Mar 6th, 2007, 02:33 AM
Original Poster

Visa Requirement

Hello
I am a military dependent (spouse) of a USAF. I am not a US Citizen but i am a Resident card holder. We are currently stationed in Germany and are looking forward travelling around europe , my concern is would i need a visa if i go to nearby countries? or my green card will do? aside from that i also hold a sofa visa stamp from germany. Any info is greatly appreciated, thanks!
Mar 6th, 2007, 02:41 AM

you should check with your base family support office, they will be expert in all such issues.

Meantime there is no reason why you can't travel throughout Europe (Schenge countries), you are already within Europe and so you are inside the visa contol zone.
Mar 6th, 2007, 02:46 AM

It depends on your nationality & where in Europe you intend going

But GENERALLY legal residents of the US can travel to Western European countries without the need for a visa

If your travelling is in other SCHENGEN countries then unless you are flying the odds are that no-one will be checking your passport for visas
Mar 6th, 2007, 03:54 AM

i think this will depend on which country this person is from. if he7she under normal circumstances would need a tourist visa to get into the other countries, then i doubt his u.s papers will help.

however, he/she must have legal papers to be in germany, which may, or may not roll him over to other schengen states.. this may be a military special case, and restrictive for non-americans/no matter how legal you are at the facility and usa.

only his/her own embassy, base personnel and german immigration can know.
Mar 6th, 2007, 05:34 AM