Use Film Bag - Anybody Else?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 31st, 2004, 10:20 AM
Original Poster

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post

I've been using a film bag for several years and am getting a bit concerned.

I assume that when my carry-on goes through the x-ray machine the viewer sees a black hole.

Shouldn't that raise a question?

Maybe my bag isn't doing anything.

Any experiences from others would be of interest.

Thanks.
Old Mar 31st, 2004, 10:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Eons ago when I first started to travel, I bought a film bag. Used it once. Including very recent trips I keep film and camera in my carry-on, no problems with film being affected. I use 200 or 400 speed.
Old Mar 31st, 2004, 10:35 AM

I use a )lead) film bag and always carry it for hand inspection, no problems. I too have wondered about the "black hole" that must surely appear during a scan of checked luggage.
Old Mar 31st, 2004, 10:55 AM
SRS

Myer,

I always use a lead lined film bag for all my film.

I used to asked them to hand check it, but once they wouldn't and instead they'd take all the film out of the bag and put it through the scanner (which really irritated me even though the film was totally fine).

Now I just put the lead lined bag with film in it in my carry on.

Not too long ago, in Chicago, I was at a line where someone was in training and the supervisor pointed out to the trainee that it was a lead bag with film. But they didn't ask to see it.

So I think it might be a black hole, but perhaps the size and shape make it okay? I've wondered too?
Old Mar 31st, 2004, 11:25 AM

Since I've got to keep my film in some sort of bag, I use a lead one. Only once has the the "black hole" been questioned and the bag inspected. I've started using a clear plastic bag instead the lead bag for US travel ever since there has been a consistent policy of hand inspecting 800 and faster film. For overseas travel, I still use the lead bag. It makes me feel that my film is safe!