Search

Tuscan Region

Search this Thread

Old Jul 27th, 2005, 10:26 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tuscan Region

Hello all you world travellers! We are new to this site. My wife and I are planning a trip to Italy next year (June) for 10 days-our 15th. wedding anniversary. We would love to go to the Tuscan region but, never having been to Italy we are open to alot of suggestions on where to stay and sites not to be missed. I assume we would fly into Rome and spend about two days there and then off to Tuscany. We both love wine, small villages, scenery and I am an avid photographer. So the region seems perfect. Should we go to a travel agent or can we plan the trip ourselves.

Thanks to all
Old Jul 27th, 2005, 10:49 AM

Hi Thumper:
My husband and I have been to Tuscany many times and have always planned the trip ourselves--but that is what we enjoy doing! If you also enjoy planning for yourself, you have plenty of time. We always spend a few days in Florence and/or Rome, then a week or two in a rental somewhere in central Tuscany so that we can take day trips from our home base. I love to cook; going to the local markets is great for fresh as well as prepared foods. My husband loves to explore the wines of the area, so we do a bit of wine tasting in the wineries. Our favorite "home base" villages are Montepulciano and Fonterutoli (near Castelina in Chianti). We have had great luck finding rentals by searching "Vacation rentals in Tuscany." I would start with one of the travel guides to the area--Frommer's or Eyewitness "Florence and Tuscany" Enjoy the planning, enjoy the trip!
Old Jul 27th, 2005, 11:50 AM
ira

Hi T,

I suggest for an anniversary trip that you

fly into Venice (or Milan if you have to and train to Venice) for 3-4 days.

A first visit is not the best time to learn to drive in Italy.

If you are adventurous and like maps, rent a car and spend 4 days in Tuscany. Drop the car in Florence and fly home from Florence (FLR) or Pisa (PSA).