Trips from Amsterdam

Old Feb 22nd, 2006, 02:28 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trips from Amsterdam

I am a college student on a budget taking my first self-led trip to Europe with 2 of my friends who have never set foot out of the country. We're staying in Amsterdam and are looking for places to go while we're over there (we're there for a week). We would like to see as much as possible without stretching ourself too thin. What are some good places to go throughout The Netherlands? What are some good day trips to take to other countries? I've heard Brussels and Brugge are places in Belgium I can't miss. What do y'all think? Also, would it be advisable to go somewhere in Germany or would that take too long and too much money?
Old Feb 22nd, 2006, 02:32 PM
Original Poster

P.S.-We can also do overnight trips. We're really down for whatever.
Old Feb 22nd, 2006, 02:39 PM

Hi, I would go to Brugge for sure. You could go to friesland in northern holland or you take the thalys train to Paris or try Luxemburg. Brugge and Luxemburg at least for 1 night if Paris go for at least 2 nights.
Old Feb 23rd, 2006, 08:19 AM

Delft, a very nice old city with some canals and with a big old church on Marktplein where the dutch royal are buried.
Rotterdam with its new citycenter, make a boattour through this busy harbor and take an elevator to the top of Euromast.
Gouda, where the cheese and candles come from.
Schoonhoven, a city with many silverstores.
Zaanse Schans near Koog Zaandijk, many old still working windmills.
Haarlem, nice old city with Frans Hals Museum.
Old Feb 23rd, 2006, 08:23 AM

You can also do fnatastic trips without leaving Amsterdam if you visit the Smart Shops and buy the legally sold magic mushrooms!
Old Feb 23rd, 2006, 08:33 AM

Train to Dusseldorf. I hear is a really fun town for young people, not too far by train from Amsterdam.
Old Feb 23rd, 2006, 08:59 AM