May 27th, 2007, 07:21 AM
Original Poster

They came, They Toured, They offended

Today's Tourists;

http://tinyurl.com/yuzdaq
May 27th, 2007, 08:16 AM

That's interesting. Guess it's time to change the term to "ugly tourist."
May 27th, 2007, 08:38 AM

Thanks cigale - the last paragraph should be required reading!
May 27th, 2007, 08:41 AM

I work in the hospitality industry in south Florida and the rudest tourists we encounter (I will probably get in trouble for this) are the French Canadians. They do not tip, are generally rude and arrogant, and deny any knowleadge of the English language...until they get the bill, and then they can speak it perfectly.

Having said that, I apologize to all French Canadians who don't fit that category. You are not the ones I meant to insult.:-"
May 27th, 2007, 09:05 AM

The crux of the matter is that anubody can be a good or bad tourist regardless of nationality.

On a trip to Tenerife, I was horrified by my fellow "Brits" in their replica soccer shirts seeing how quickly they could get obnoxiously drunk. I'd hate to think that my travel habits are similar in any way. (Although I will confess to specifically wearing my teams shirt at Pompeii - if only for the visual pun).
May 27th, 2007, 09:10 AM

My impression is that the less experienced and the less willing a tourist is, the more obnoxious he will be. Thus, the totally inexperienced first-time business traveller may be a nightmare to deal with, whereas the experienced casual tourist with tens of thousands of miles of travelling experience in many different countries may be considerably easier to get along with.

Overall, it seems that just about everyone behaves worse abroad than at home. However, in their defense, it should be kept in mind that most human customs and culture are completely arbitrary, and there's no logical way to figure out what the local customs are short of looking them up and memorizing them.
May 27th, 2007, 09:50 AM
lyb

Dottee,