Suggestions for Slow Travel in Ireland

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 12th, 2010, 08:45 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am just beginning to plan a 3 week trip to Ireland for September. This will be our first visit and I honestly selected Ireland because flying to Dublin from the Balt/DC area was the least expensive airline ticket to Europe on the day I was doing a search and I was in the mood for an airfare bargain

My plan was to stay 5 or 6 nights in Dublin and one week on the east coast and west coast of the Republic of Ireland and do day trips to the principal sights from our chosen home bases.

I am wondering if the roads in Ireland and low travel speeds are conducive to this travel plan. I'm trying to avoid changing accommodations every other day if possible and still see sights of interest to a first time visitor while enjoying the small town friendliness that seems to be the norm in Ireland

All suggestions and help would be appreciated. Thank you, Deborah
Old Jan 12th, 2010, 02:04 PM

Deborah,

I would suggest with that amount of time - researching and finding the places you want to see -- to me in Dublin a week is a LONG Time....with so much beauty other places - I'd give Dingle 3 days at least - and You can get a wonderful deal at Adare Manor condo's for 5 days...and it is beautiful! (great place to go on day trips from!)
Old Jan 14th, 2010, 05:39 AM
Original Poster

Irishgal, thanks. A friend told me she wished she had stayed longer in Dublin than her two day stay. I like large cities so I'm planning on at least 4 days there.

In my research, initially using Michelin's recommendations for principal sights, on my list are the areas around Kilkenny, Kinsale, Killarney, Dingle, Bunratty, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara. Long list, I realize