Notices

Stay in Italy or Tour Germany as well?

Old Jul 10th, 2010, 09:38 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stay in Italy or Tour Germany as well?

Hello Everyone,

My fiance and I are planning to marry in Italy next summer (hopefully Amalfi coast). We are both history buffs. Italy and Germany have always been on my "Bucket" list. I speak fairly fluent German (I studied the language for seven years in middle/high school) but have never even been there! On the other hand, Italy has always been the number one in my heart.

Therefore, we had planned on the following:

Amalfi= 4-5 days

Rome= 3 days

Florence= 1-2 days

Venice= 2 days

followed by:

either an 8 day Rhine River cruise from Germany to Amsterdam OR 7-8 days in Germany (Bavaria area)

HOWEVER, I have been reading several forums discussing how Rome should really be a 5 day stay and I am also intrigued with Tuscany! We have about 3 weeks (and have to include travel time from USA to Europe) for the wedding/honeymoon of a lifetime. We would love to say we will be back soon, but I am afraid that jobs, children, and the unexpected nuances of life will interfere and this could be the only trip to Europe for a LONG TIME (if even ever). I don't want to have any regrets.

Any suggestions are welcome!

Thanks/Danke!

~Erin
Old Jul 11th, 2010, 03:52 AM

Much of Italy will be quite hot and crowded in summer so be prepared for that. Bavaria should be quite delightful. Your plan would allow a nice mix of experiences and cultures and with three weeks you can take your time and not rush around too much. Germany, Italy and Austria, are my three favorite countries in Europe to visit and each offer a diverse range of interesting places to explore.

I am not a big fan of the AC but our reasons for loving Italy are primarily the food, wine and culture followed by art, architecture and scenery.