Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Should I go to Turkey in August, or wait for another opportunity?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 31st, 2008, 07:40 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all,
My husband and I are 33, interested in culture, architecture, nature and food (among other things). We tend to stay in budget pensions (not hostels) or camp when traveling. In the past, we've gone to Italy, Costa Rica, Alaska, Belgium and Spain - several of those trips involved camping.

This year (2009), the only time we have available to travel is late July-early August. I am interested in going to Turkey (Istanbul, Cappadocia, ruins near Med, etc.) but I'm worried that the heat will make budget traveling uncomfortable (no A/C). Would we be better off going to one of our other choices this year (Slovenia or the Netherlands are at the top of the list) and trying for Turkey next year (2010) in mid-June? I'm a teacher, so unfortunately the May or September trip is not an option.

Thanks!
Old Dec 31st, 2008, 07:56 AM

I would not go to Turkey in mid-summer, but then I live in SF and am no longer used to extreme heat. We have camped in 100+ heat, but would no longer bear it. If you live in an area that gets very hot in the summer, such as the South, you might not find Turkey as uncomfortable as I would.
Old Dec 31st, 2008, 08:07 AM
Original Poster

Michael,
Thanks, that's what I'm worried about. When we were in Italy (June/July), it was plenty hot some of the time, and we were camping. But since we were there for 5 weeks, we could afford to spend a day just resting (sometimes by a pool) if the heat got too much. Also, we found that nights were cool so we could sleep comfortably. We'll only have 2 weeks this year, so I imagine our pace will be much faster and I'll want to do more than one thing per day.

We live currently in Delaware, which does get somewhat hot in the summer but we're used to A/C.