Scarf question for Italy

Jun 29th, 2005, 04:33 PM
Original Poster

Scarf question for Italy

I never worry about clothes in Italy, but this time, my 7th trip, I have a concern. I always take a pashmina to wear over sleeveless things, but I would like to take something lighter this time. I am going in August, and I have been there in August before and hate dealing with something hot to put over my shoulders. I bought a SHEER scarf/shawl to wear over my shoulders into churches. It will roll up into a tiny thing or tie on my shoulder bag that I carry. Does the fact that it is sheer matter? I have not ever thought about this, but is covered all that matters?
Jun 29th, 2005, 04:37 PM
claude315

Hi Marty,

I am an expert on scarves in Italy!!! My friends and I managed to buy a great pile of them between us!!

At the moment there are beautiful linen scarves everywhere, especially in Florence. Wide enough to drape around shoulders and COOL..

Jun 29th, 2005, 05:36 PM
Original Poster

Thanks. My "pashmina" that I always carry is one of those huge linen ones. I am just tired of dealing with the bulk of it. My new one is as big as a pashmina, but it is white and sheer like an evening wrap rather that a scarf. I have harped on my friends who are going with me so much about being covered, I don't want to be the one who is underdressed!!
Jun 29th, 2005, 05:44 PM

Hi Marty

IMO, for what it might be worth, being well and decorously draped in your lovely, large, sheer white shawl as you approach any church ought to be just fine.

I've seen European tourists get into Italian churches wearing garbage bags. Surely your large shawl will do the job. Relax, I think.
Jun 29th, 2005, 05:51 PM