sailing to Croatia

Search

sailing to Croatia

Search this Thread

Old Dec 28th, 2009, 07:58 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sailing to Croatia

Has anyone experienced a sailboat/yacht trip to several coastal cities in Croatia? We're planning a trip to Croatia in late spring or early summer and heard that these cruises (usually about 125 to 350 passengers) were a good way to see and get around the country. The one that I'm interested in leaves from and returns to Venice. I'm just beginning research on Croatia and was wondering if this is worth looking into further. We have 10 days, including travel to and from the U.S. Any input would be appreciated.
Old Dec 29th, 2009, 12:19 AM

While it wasn't a sailboat or yacht, I cruised from Venice
(which is a great port to sail from as one should spend some time there) on a small ship.

While I won't recomemnd this particular company as some elements weren't good, I can tell you it was an excellent way to see the ports. With a small boat, one docks right in the ports which is an obvious plus as you walk off the ship into town. Croatian ports are lovely as are the people.

If you can find something affordable & can spend some time in Venice do plan on taking this cruise.

One caveat: With the new & confusing TSA rules, remember to build in extra time for security @ airports PLUS check to make sure your aircraft has not been cancelled on the return flight. Incoming international flights also have new & ridiculous rulings (as no lavatory visits in last hr of flight). How this plays out we shall see.

May we ask what company you are interested in?
Old Dec 30th, 2009, 03:01 AM

Afterthought: You posted this on the Europe board.
Re-post on Fodors Cruise board which would be a better fit for answers.
Old Dec 30th, 2009, 04:08 AM