Rue des Ecoles in the 5th District

Old Dec 18th, 2002, 09:34 PM
Vincent

Rue des Ecoles in the 5th District

Hi All,
I am looking at the California Saint-Germain Hotel in the 5th district in Paris (exact address - 32, rue des Ecoles). I reckon the area is very safe and vibrant. And I would like to stay on the Left Bank in 'the epicenter of it all'. Shall I look up a hotel a little East or West or South of California St-Germain or is this the ultimate location for the first trip?
Thanks.

Old Dec 18th, 2002, 09:59 PM
Carol

Hi Vincent. I'm relatively new to Fodors, but I've picked up that you need to be as precise as possible to get the help you want...like when you're going, price range and other needs/expectations that will help those willing to help.

I'm not familiar w/that particular hotel, but others have mentioned it. I would find out how close the nearest metro stop(s) are for instance.

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel de l'Univers (6 rue Gregoire) located off boulevard St. Germain and rue Bucci. It is a 15th century Maison whose old wine cellar has been turned into the breakfast room. It is near both Odeon and St. Germain metro stations (6th arrondissement) and has several wonderful eateries just around the corner--Paul's (fantastic bakery/dinette), L'Arbucci's all you can eat oyster bar (which has jazz at night) and chez Allard (my husband's fav.)as well as all that is available on the blvd. This is a three star. Rooms were small for the 250-280ff but well appointed. Back rooms are quieter than the front ones, but I like watching the neighborhood activinties.

Old Dec 19th, 2002, 03:43 AM
ann