Rome and Southern Italy

Old Aug 30th, 2004, 07:25 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rome and Southern Italy

Hi!

I am getting ready to go to Rome in October for two weeks with my best friend. We are both single women in our late twenties and this is our dream vacation. We want to see and experience all that Italy has to offer.

I have been looking for hotels in Rome and Capri, but have not found very many websites that have reasonable rates. We would like to be near Piazza Navona or another active area. Does anyone have suggestions for a good, but reasonable hotel?

I am still studying Capri, so any advice in that area would be greatly appreciated.

Lastly, we are driving down the Amalfi Coast to Sicily and spending about 4 days checking out the island. Does anyone have suggestions?

Needless to say, we are thrilled to go to Italy. I've read some bad reviews recently on the way Americans are treated in Rome, but we are both pretty savvy travelers. Any advice or thoughts?

Thanks!
Old Aug 30th, 2004, 08:56 PM
cmt

<<Lastly, we are driving down the Amalfi Coast to Sicily and spending about 4 days checking out the island. Does anyone have suggestions?>>

My suggestion would be to allow MUCH more than 4 days to see even just part of Sicily. If I'm understanding correctly, your plan seems to be to spend two weeks in Rome, a few days along the Amalfi coast or in Capri, and four days in Sicily. I think it would be better to reverse the distribution of days, that is spend four days in Rome and two weeks in Sicily.
Old Aug 31st, 2004, 01:46 AM

If you are both savvy travelers, then you will likely already realize that "treatment of Americans in Rome" is a highly individual, highly subjective thing, often (not always) having as much to do with the expectations/behavior of the traveler as with the way he/she is treated.

I think it's much more likely that you will go in with a friendly attitude, and be well treated.