Search

Prague - Currency/Hotel Question

Search this Thread

Old Jun 15th, 2012, 07:38 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Prague - Currency/Hotel Question

Good Morning,

I made a reservation at Hotel U Prince in Prague for 2 nights. I was quoted a price (for 3 people in a junior suite) of Euro 199 per night. So Euro 398 total for the stay. I've started researching the basics for the trip and remembered that the Czech Republic is still using the Czech Koruna (CZK). Any idea why the hotel would quote me in Euros? Should I request they quote me in CZK? I looked on xe.com and the exchange rate (as of today) is 1CZK = .049 USD. The exchange rates of course change on a daily basis but this at least gives me an idea. Our trip is in July.

This is my first time traveling to countries (Prague and Croatia) that are have different currencies than the Euro. The dollar is weak against the euro (although it's better than it was a couple of years ago) but if I can use the CZK and save money, obviously I would do that.

Thank you for the help!!
Old Jun 15th, 2012, 07:50 AM

You should ask the hotel why they quoted in Euros. My guess is that they are used to having European guests who use Euros. I've seen prices in Euros all over Europe, even when the country did not use Euros (Turkey, for instance).

The dollar is weak against all currencies (compared to what it used to be although it is a bit stronger now) so don't think you're getting a bargain if you pay in CZK. I remember when the exchange was $1:25czk. When I went to the Czech Rep 2 years ago the exchange was $1:17czk. Today it's $1:20czk.

Ask the hotel for a quote in CZK and do the math. They'll probably charge you in CZK but if you're more comfortable with that currency then ask for the price to be charged in CZK. Just don't pay in USD.
Old Jun 15th, 2012, 07:54 AM