Portuguese language question

Jun 24th, 2007, 08:22 AM
Original Poster

Portuguese language question

I'm studying language tapes for my trip to Portugal in July and August. On the tapes I'm hearing some different pronunciations for very basic words:

1. Senhor- sometimes I hear /Senhor/, like in Spanish. Sometimes I hear /Senhoreh/, like in Italian. What's up? Is it regional?

2. As I understand it, the "nh" is pronounced /ny/ as in Senhor, but ofter my tapes pronounce "vinho" as /vino/. Am I just hearing it wrong?

Jun 24th, 2007, 08:34 AM

/Senhor/ is the singular and /Senhorez/ is the plural form Both are like in Spanish. And yes, nh is pronounced as /ny/.
Jun 24th, 2007, 08:45 AM
Original Poster

Thanks for the quick reply.
Jun 24th, 2007, 08:55 AM

I wish you lots of luck.

We found Portuguese to be very difficult. That does not mean you will.

Let us know how you make out.
Jun 25th, 2007, 12:45 AM

Words ending in 'o,' the 'o' is silent. For example, when MetroLisboa is approaching Rossio, an announcement comes across as 'Rossi.'

An exception to that rule may be Vinho, pronounced Vinyo.

A high percentage of young Portuguese people speak English, and I found them very anxious to try out their English language skills. If your Portuguese fails, try English (i.e., NOT Spanish)
Jun 25th, 2007, 01:16 AM

Final "o" isn't really silent, it's pronounced as "u". However, as unstressed syllables are often barely pronounced in spoken Portuguese it's often hard to hear.
Jun 25th, 2007, 02:21 AM

hanl is right, in Rossio the final "o" is pronounced but hardly noticed by an untrained listener. Rossio ends like the English word "you".
Back to the original post, "Senhor", is pronounced like "señor" in Spanish, but with a lesser stress in the first syllabe, almost like "s'ñor".
Senhora (Senhoreh) is feminine. The final "a" is very weak, like the Arabic Ta' Marbuta, being the main sign of a feminine word.
No "vino" unless you speak Latin ("in vino veritas").