Please help with rail passes!

May 26th, 2008, 06:00 PM
Original Poster

Please help with rail passes!

I'm trying to determine if purchasing a rail pass would be the most affordable option for travel in Germany, Switzerland and Italy. I need to get from the Frankfurt airport to Munich and then from Munich to Lucerne. About a month later, I will need to get from Geneva to Rome and finally from Rome to Venice to catch a flight. I am a student and so qualify for the discounted youth rail pass which costs $305 for 5 traveling days. Would it be best to purchase this pass or buy tickets individually? I know that rail travel in Italy is affordable but the other countries appear to be more expensive. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! THANK YOU!
May 26th, 2008, 06:08 PM

I have no doubt the Eurail Select youthpass would be a great deal for you on this itinerary

to see go to www.bahn.de, the German rail site and compare regular fares for just the German and Swiss trips and you'll see the pass, youth pass, is a great deal, esp in light of the high euro
May 26th, 2008, 06:12 PM

If you or someone you know (maybe your parents) are AAA members, they can help you find the right pass for you.
May 26th, 2008, 08:35 PM

I guess it all depends on whether or not you can commit to times and trains before you go. At $305, the Youth Select pass would be about €200, €50 per day if you only use it for the four legs you indicated.

If you can commit, you can get low promotional fares from German Rail. Frankfurt to Munich and Munich to Luzern can be as low as €29 and €39 respectively for fast express trains, less on the Frankfurt-Munich run for slower trains. I had no trouble finding those two legs for €78 combined.