Search

Rail pass for daughter

Search this Thread

Old May 31st, 2008, 03:27 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rail pass for daughter

Helping my daughter out...

she will be going from Prague to Munich, and then Munich to Berlin. It looks like a pass is $281 (2 country, 2nd class youth). I'm trying to compare it to point-to-point tickets. Have read the posts and looked at the bahn site. For those 2 trips, the prices are all over the place- how do you know, when you look at the schedule/price chart, which are the prices she would get the train tickets for?

Does it just make sense to get the pass? In either case does she need to make a reservation? If so, does she need to do that ahead of time- will be difficult once she's on the road!
Old Jun 1st, 2008, 03:35 PM

I'm not an expert, but based on recent trips in Europe, this seems a bit high if those are the only times she will be using the pass. I think this site will help you. It offers lots of information.
http://www.eurotrip.com/content/berl...-prague-munich
Old Jun 1st, 2008, 03:52 PM

www.bahn.de has fares in euros for those trips - you will see the pass is much higher than the normal fares i think - the big fare is the Munich-Berlin fare if you pay full fare - scour bahn.de for online deep discounts, which however have to be reserved as far in advance as possible.

The German railpass would perhaps make more sense than the Germany-Czech flexipass - trains in Czech are dirt cheap to get to the German border but the German Railpass Youth pass may be a good deal if wanting flexibility.

But the fares are all online at www.bahn.de to check