Paris Trip Report--May 2002

May 20th, 2002, 03:16 PM
Chloe

Paris Trip Report--May 2002

I wanted to say thank you for all the trip advice. And I thought I'd give a quick report. I'm not an expert and this was my first trip, these are just little tidbits.

The Rodin Museum really is lovely, especially the gardens. It's also a great place to start and get the museum pass as it doesn't tend to get long lines. You'll definitely want the pass before you hit
the Louvre or Orsay.

We went to the Louvre at 9am on a Wed, via the underground metro stop entrance. No line
whatsoever and we were able to see the highlights of the museum, including the Mona Lisa, Winged Victory, Crown jewels, Vermeers, etc., without any crowds.

Go to the Eiffel Tower after 6:30pm, or even later. We went on a Tues and there was no lines and we were able to go all over the platform without many people at all around us. Spectacular view--don't miss it!!

May 20th, 2002, 03:17 PM
chloe

Try Chartres as a day trip and I would really recommend Malcolm Miller's tour (it's 10 euros per person.) He's incredibly knowledgeable. Make sure you check out the view at the back of the church and the small park. Very pretty. Buy you train ticket at an SNCF office in the city, makes it easier.

I saw another trip report saying to make sure you list the shops you want to go to as part of your itinerary. I would totally agree to that. There's so much to see and do that if you don't have it as a specific destination you probably will overlook it. So write down the name and address of that
chocolate shop or you probably will end up skipping it.

May 20th, 2002, 03:18 PM
chloe

Also, if you see something you want, buy it. You probably won't have time to go back and get it.