Paris Itinerary

Nov 12th, 2009, 06:50 PM
Original Poster

Paris Itinerary

This is my first time writing in a fodor's forum although I have read many forum topics before. I need help with organizing my itinerary for a Paris trip in June of next year. Please feel free to comment or make suggestions for the following four day itinerary:

Option 1
Friday--Orsay and Rodin
Sat-Versaille and Eiffel in the evening
Sun-Louvre and Marais including Carnavlet
Mon-Notre Dame and Latin Quarter including Cluny

or Option 2
Friday-Notre Dame and Latin Quarter
Sat-Versailles and Eiffel
Sun-Orsay and Rodin
Mon-Louvre and Marais no Carnavalet (closed)

Friday--day of arrival we arrive early in the morning. Can we see the Orsay and Rodin in the same day? Instead Is it okay to go to the Louvre on Friday since it is open late or will we be too tired from jetlag?

When is the best time to go to the Louvre--Sunday morning or Monday morning or Friday evening? What time will have the least crowds? Is the Louvre crowded on Monday because Orsay, Rodin, Carnavalet and Versailles are all closed on Monday so everyone goes to the Louvre?

Has anyone been to the Carnavlet on Sunday? Is it worth seeing?

Has anyone gone up to the top of Notre dame towers? Is it claustrophobic? Do you go up the same stairs as others are coming down? Is there a railing? When is the best time to do this?

It is difficult to plan because Orsay and Rodin are closed on Monday and the Louvre is closed on Tuesday. We are open to other suggestions that fit in the things we want to see. Thanks in advance for comments/suggestions
Nov 12th, 2009, 08:01 PM
tod

Hi and welcome!

Option 1 - I think you will find plenty of time to visit the Eiffel Tower after Musee Rodin. You could do a leisurely stroll from the D'Orsay to Rodin and enjoy lunch in the garden(nice little cafe`). After viewing walk to Eiffel Tower for late afternoon and evening viewing.