Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Paris: departure from Les Sablons to CDG on Sunday am. Can this be done?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 13th, 2010, 03:24 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I need help from all of you seasoned travelers!
It's my first time abroad (at 55!) and I'm flying home solo (the rest of the pack get to stay an extra week). I've found routes from Les Sablons to CDG airport on a Sunday morning, with arrival at CDG at 8:00 am (and a departing AA flight at 11: 45 am) on 5 September. Working with the RAPT online site the journey looks like this: Board from Les Sablons (6:48) on Md1 to Chatelet (7:04) then walk to M4 (hope I can find this line) board and ride to Les Halles (7:10) walk to RER B - CDG 2 TGV board and ride to CDG (7:58) arrival. It was easy to plan online. But will it work in reality? It's been interesting to become my own travel agent for this trip, figuring out lots of things. About this last connection though, I have some anxiety. After reading some of the posts about Sunday departures (wish I had known better when I booked, but, now I do know) the best thing is to check with folks who have done this before.

Thanks for your input.
Old Aug 14th, 2010, 08:11 AM

Of course it will work, those lines go there.

I don't understand why you would do this, though, it just sounds like a PIA to me. I presume you are packing like one small suitcase for your trip, and that's all (I mean really small), given all that moving around on the metro/RER and walking just to get to CDG. If RATP gave you that plan for a Sunday, the times should work. I never check times as their are metros and trains to CDG all the time, and I never try to cut it so close that I am dependent on one particular time. I just get the next one after I get there, whenever it is.