Paris, April, first time, please review my hotel list

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 7th, 2009, 09:13 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi again -- my trip is now booked and I'll be going to Paris (for the first time!) in April. Fortunately or unfortunately it will coincide with Easter but I am piggy-backing on a work trip so the dates are fixed.

I am traveling alone and plan to walk a lot and take the Metro. I want to see some of the major sites, but most of my vacation will be spent wandering around, ducking in and out of shops and cafes, and soaking it in. I want to stay somewhere that won't be overrun with tour buses and tour groups (is that even possible?). For example, I had considered the Brighton but it seems to be a tourist hub.

Here's the rundown:
My budget is $150-200 US.
I'd like to be close to Metro stops.
I'd like to walk out the door and feel like I'm in a bustling neighborhood, not just a business/tourist district.
BUT...since it's my first time, I don't want to stay too far afield from the center of Paris.
Want somewhere safe for a woman traveling alone.
Helpful staff who will humor my halting French, or be okay with reverting to English.
Small room is fine if it's clean. A little charm would be nice. And a hair dryer.

Hotels under consideration (I've checked my dates and all of these fall within my budget):
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Abbatial St Germain
Hotel Duquesne Eiffel
Hotel Residence Henri IV

Your opinions would be most appreciated. I could also switch rooms midway through, for a taste of another neighborhood...?
Old Feb 7th, 2009, 09:17 AM
ira

Hi DA,

I think that the Bonaparte meets all of your requirements.

Old Feb 7th, 2009, 10:00 AM