Search

Paris

Search this Thread

Old Feb 15th, 2008, 07:51 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Paris

Hi, I'm a newbie here but I'm going to be in Paris at the end of April and looking for a place to stay. What area would you recommend? I've heard the 7th is a nice place to stay. Any thoughts? Also, any hotel recommendations. I would like to spend around 100 euros a night.
Old Feb 15th, 2008, 08:00 AM

You could use viaMichelin: http://www.viamichelin.com/viamichel...troller/Hotels

Specify the country and on the line for the postcode, enter 75007. Michelin will list its recommendations with prices. You might also want to try 75005.
Old Feb 15th, 2008, 08:09 AM
tod

clevercloud - Newbie on Fodors, and a newbie to Paris. If this is so, I don't think the 7th is for you.
It may be close to the Eiffel Tower & Rue Cler (which I'm sure you have heard about) but other than that it does not have the throb of Blvd.St.Germain and the restaurants in the street leading off it.
If it's a first time in Paris - stay either in the Marais or the 5th/6th.
Oldies like me have ventured farther afield into the double digit arrondissements where the Parisiens still live in relative peace and quiet.
Old Feb 15th, 2008, 08:23 AM

I wouldn't say that newbies should not stay in the 7th, I think quite a few of them like it very much. It really depends on tastes and what you are looking for in a hotel and surrounding area. I personally do not like St Germain and its throbbing, for example. However, if that's what you want, I agree somewhere noisier and more crowded might be more suitable.

Also, the 7th has lots cheaper hotels than St Germain, so there is that advantage. There is almost nothing available in St Germain at 100 euros, I'm pretty sure. What is will be lower quality than elsewhere. There is not much available in the Marais at that rate, either, but maybe.

Try hotel Champ du Mars in the 7th
within that price range
http://www.hotel-du-champ-de-mars.com/