Need train reservations for November?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 25th, 2007, 07:23 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all, my husband and I are currently planning our first trip to Italy. We will be there from November 23 until December 2. We are flying into Rome and plan to take a train from Rome to Florence, and then another train from Florence to Venice. We would like to take the Eurostar Italia train, first class.

We're not yet quite sure of the times we'd like to travel, and I find the Trenitalia website exceptionally confusing. As such, I'd prefer to wait until we arrive in Italy to purcase tickets.

Is that a bad idea? I definitely don't want to face a situation where all the first class Eurostar seats are booked. I imagine we won't face this problem in the middle of the low season, but I'm a complete novice about this so I thougt I'd ask the experts. Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!
Old Oct 25th, 2007, 07:35 PM

Since you are a newbie to Europe's trains the site at http://tinyurl.com/eym5b will certainly help you get started.

As for your specific route and the Eurostar Italia, you should have no problem buying your tickets and reservations after you arrive in Rome, assuming that you will be there for the weekend and plan to go on to Florence mid-week. The reservations are only €3, about $4, so if you change plans it is not much of a penalty to buy diferent reservations.

Old Oct 25th, 2007, 07:41 PM

I've taken that route several times. I usually bought my tickets a few days ahead. I never had a problem even during the busy season.
Old Oct 25th, 2007, 07:43 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts