Notices

Itinerary in Ireland

Old Feb 20th, 2009, 08:56 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Itinerary in Ireland

I would so appreciate any input on this itinerary.

We are flying in the day before so we will have a full day to see Dublin.

Day 1 Tour Dublin
Day 2 Drive to Kildare to Nat'l Stud Farm & Japanese Gardens. Drive to Kilkenny to view medieval city. Overnight in Kilkenny.
Day 3 Drive to Cashel, Blarney Castle, Cobh, Cork, and to Killarney. Overnight Killarney.
Day 4 Ring of Kerry and Muckross Gardens. Overnight Killarney
Day 5 Visit Dingle peninsula. Overnight Killaney
Day 6 Ferry across River Shannon to Visit Cliffs of Moher. Overnight Galway.
Day 7 Ferry to Inis More (Aran Island). Overnight Bunratty.
Day 8 Drive to airport in Shannon for flight home.

Is the drive on Day 3 doable? I also have heard Kenmare is a nice city to visit. Should we overnight there?

We would like to stay in B&B's and a castle for one night.

This is my first time planning an independent travel trip. Is it doable? Too much in a short time? We should have lots of daylight hours so we can tour fairly late each day. I would truly like feedback on where we are lodging each night. Are we staying in the best location for activites that day and the following? We need to book a flight soon but I am hesitant to do so until the itinerary is worked out. Any recommendations would be so helpful and appreciated.

Nancy
Old Feb 20th, 2009, 09:17 PM

Dear Travelbug,

This is a very aggressive itinerary but possible. That said, I would consider staying in Dingle or Tralee overnight on Day 5 instead of going back to Killarney. I think you would be closer to the ferry for day 6. Dingle is wonderful and it would be a shame to miss the wonderful tradition music and pubs. Other than the rose garden in Tralee, not much going on there.

Irish847
Old Feb 21st, 2009, 07:53 AM
Original Poster

Thanks for your quick response. I really like your suggestion about staying on Dingle. Great idea!!!