Reload this Page >

Itinerary Advice: Denmark, Norway, Sweden

Old Apr 13th, 2012, 06:43 AM
tn
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am just getting started on planning my family's trip this summer...and a little bit later than I would like, too! Here are the basics: we are a family of five, kids aged from 9 to 18. We will be traveling from June 24 to July 8 and flying into Denmark and out of Stockholm. I think we have a pretty solid itinerary, but some advice from those who have done this route before would be really helpful. I will just note, I am worried about our travel schedule in Norway, which is busier than we we would like. I have an extra day right now in Stockholm (in my opinion in any case) to put somewhere.

When we are in Denmark, we are considering a trip to Aalborg, which is where my family is from -- but outside of that, I do not know if this town is really worth visiting (I am not in touch with any relatives there). And if we went there, would it be better to take a ferry from that area to Oslo? I had also considered the island of Aero in Denmark or one of the islands on in Sweden for a night, but I have take that out due to time. Does anyone think this is a mistake?

So here it is:

6/24 Arrive Copenhagen
6/25 - 6/28 CPH/Denmark
6/28 Overnight Ferry to Oslo
6/29 - 7/1 Oslo
7/1 Train from Oslo for Norway in a Nutshell trip to Flåm, Ferry to Balestrand, Overnight at the Kviknes Hotel.
7/2 Ferry to Bergen
7/4 Bergen to Stockholm
7/8 Depart Stockholm for US

I have a pretty good sense of activities in Copenhagen, Oslo and Stockholm. We will hit a lot of the normal sites. But we could add a day in Balestrand to do some hiking or other activities in this area. Any advice on that?

This board is always very helpful, so thanks for any advice.
Old Apr 13th, 2012, 07:15 AM

Norway looks ok, though apart from the viking ship museum and the kontiki museum (right next door to each other) I'm not sure what I would do with 2 whole days in Oslo (shop?)