In need of some European travel advice

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 30th, 2005, 01:45 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi. I'm going to be going on a road trip in Europe. Zurich, Germany, Amsterdam, Paris, Nice, and Barcelona in a span of 14 days with a friend. He has been there many times, but this is my first time out of the country. I have more of a cultural question than anything else. How are people different in Europe than America? Is it hard to meet people and make friends there? I'm from Chicago and people tend to be a bit stand-offish here. Is it the same there? I'm a little shy, so I'm a worried about not meeting people or having fun there. Oh, and one last question. Will people there give me a hard time when they hear my accent and realize I'm American because of the war and politics? Thanks for any help.
-Dominic
Old Apr 30th, 2005, 02:03 PM

If your friend has been there many times, he should give you his opinions on your questions about whether people made fun of him, etc. Whether people are standoffish or not in general, is not the experience of a tourist, necessarily.

I'm sure you can have fun, but you cannot realistically expect to make friends or meet anyone seriously if you are visiting 6 cities all across Europe in 14 days. I don't really know how that is logistically even possible. I guess maybe one day in each city? Most local residents don't hang out in major tourist locales, which is probably what you are going to be seeing if it's your first trip. Do you meet and become friends with tourists to Chicago?
Old Apr 30th, 2005, 02:08 PM
ira

Hi Dom,

>How are people different in Europe than America?<

How long do you want to sit and listen to my answer?

Don't worry. Millions of Americans visit Europe every year.

>Zurich, Germany, Amsterdam, Paris, Nice, and Barcelona in a span of 14 days with a friend.<