Reload this Page >

Hotel Santa Maria or Hotel Ponte Sisto

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 23rd, 2006, 08:34 AM
JaneRebecca

I just received confirmation from Hotel Santa Maria for only 5 out of the 6 nights I would like to be in Rome for 330 Euros per night for the only room they have left: a junior suite. Also, received a confirmation through 'Reservation Italy' for Hotel Ponte Sisto for 300 Euros per night for all six nights for a Triple room. It's been difficult deciding because I have never been to Rome.

I am concerned about "Reservation Italy" because I have never used them before and their rates are considerably lower than the hotel web site. Can I get some feedback from folks who have used their services? Also, which one of these hotels would be best for a newcomer to Rome?

They both want to know A.S.A.P.!!! It is very difficult getting a rez in Rome and this is for mid-October.I have been rejected by many of my first choices, already.

Also, in Florence, I have received confirmation from Hotel Casci. I think this is a very good choice. What do you all think? I like a quiet hotel, with nice people running it (they don't need to fuss over me since we are pretty independent) but nice, and a decent size room and bath. Is there a better choice that isn't priced over 200-250 euros a night! I am amazed at the rates in Italy having done most of my travel lately in Spain.

Thank you one and all. I love the Fodors Forum and have learned so much from it over the years.

Old Jun 23rd, 2006, 08:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'd love to stay in the Ponte Sisto. It's in a interesting location just across the river from Trastevere. Do you have a room overlooking the inner garden?

And I've heard good things about the Casci.
Old Jun 23rd, 2006, 08:53 AM
JaneRebecca

Hi Mimar;

Reservation Italy does not tell you where the room is in the hotel;just what type of room it is. Do you think facing the inner garden is preferable? Have you seen the hotel?

Jane