Notices

Highland Tours Help

Old Oct 1st, 2004, 03:44 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Highland Tours Help

I am a student studying abroad at the University of Stirling for a semester. We have a one week break that I would like to get out and see some of Scotland during. I wish we could just rent a car, but since I am under 23, renting a car is really expensive and a great hassle. I've been looking into tours and have found one that looks promising: Rabbie's Highland Tours at www.rabbies.com. They do the driving and all tours are kept to 16 people or less. Has anyone been on a tour by Rabbie's that can tell me how it went? Or does anyone have other recommendations of a tour that went particularly well and would be available during the last week of October?
Old Oct 1st, 2004, 04:46 AM

I did the Timberbush tour of the western Highlands, including Oban. I was pleased with it, we were a fairly small group and we covered the area well. There were stops at castles, scenic overlooks and about 90 minutes in Oban itself, which was wonderful. I think all of the tours are fairly similar.
Old Oct 1st, 2004, 07:29 AM
rex

As the name implies, this message is from my daughter. I will take a look at the website she cited, as well as try to find info on the Timberbush tour mentioned above.

Input from Sheila or other Scotland experts will be greatly appreciated.

I/we have already discussed with our daughter the various advantages of (hopefully) being able to do this with another university friend, and there is a chance that at least one of her "flatmates" (from Germany) will come along with her on the same plan.

I may "top" this, periodically.

Thanks in advance for any nfo you have to share with me or her.

Best wishes,

Rex
Old Oct 1st, 2004, 08:51 AM

Hi Rex's daughter,