Help! Which London hotel?

May 20th, 2004, 11:25 PM
Original Poster

Help! Which London hotel?

Hello,

Has anyone stayed at the Ridgemount hotel in Bloomsbury or the Ebury hotel near Victoria Station? We were considering a hotel near Paddington but were told that it's not as convenient a location as the other two.

Any comments? We're looking for a safe, clean location for a tight budget.

We'll be landing in Heathrow on arrival and leaving from Stansted airport on departure.

Thanks for the help!
May 21st, 2004, 04:49 AM

I'm a London resident, I don't care for either location, try and find something in Bayswater or South Ken, much nicer!

Bloomsbury is a little officey, and beside the British Museum, not really a pleasant location, I wouldn't move there! Better still try to stay in Mayfair, the heart of London.
May 21st, 2004, 08:47 AM

How about the Winchester Hotel near Victoria Station? We're booked there in the fall and have heard good reviews.
May 21st, 2004, 09:01 AM

I recently stayed in Bloomsbury (although not at the hotel you mentioned) and thought it was an excellent location. It is walking distance to Soho, Covent Garden, British Museum, and the theatres.
May 21st, 2004, 10:12 AM

I like the area of Bloomsbury east of the British Museum. The Tottenham Court Road area to the West of the museum isn't the greatest.

Here are a couple other budget hotels to check out:

www.hotelcavendish.com
www.lincoln-house-hotel.co.uk
www.lancaster-hall-hotel.co.uk
www.oxfordhotellondon.co.uk
www.travelinn.co.uk

May 21st, 2004, 10:30 AM

I don't know what your budget is but I stayed at Piccadilly hotel. It was cheap and in a great location.

http://www.piccadillyhotel.net/londo...tels-main.html
May 21st, 2004, 05:54 PM
Original Poster

Hello!

Thanks for the replies.

As for staying in Mayfair, we would love to but so far prices we've checked out are beyond our range. Will check out the other hotel suggestions. Thank you.