Help! Planning my European Adventure!

Dec 9th, 2010, 08:35 AM
Original Poster

Help! Planning my European Adventure!

I need help! I am studying abroad in Italy in May for 4 weeks, I will start in Venice, and travel around to Tuscany, Florence, as well as other places in the North, and end up in Rome. In Rome is where MY adventure will begin, I will have 2 weeks ( I have to be back for my best friends wedding) to travel wherever I please. I am trying to plot out the best possible use of my time. I am thinking of a Switzerland/France trip or a France/Ireland trip, or maybe Barcelona, Madrid, and fly out of London. I am also looking at Southern Italy.
I would prefer to fly out of London, since it seems to have the cheapest flights back to the states, but flights out of Dublin don't seem so bad either.
I am a single women traveling alone, so I am hoping to keep my trip as safe as possible, while also keeping it on the inexpensive end of things.
So far, I love Paris, and would really really like to visit there, but I am hearing so many horrible stories, I am not sure it is the way I would like to spend my travel. Staying awake on the train to make sure someone doesn't steal my bag!? Chaining my luggage to my bed in the hostel!? Crazy stuff, and def. not the kind of stress I want.

So any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!
and happy traveling!
Dec 9th, 2010, 08:41 AM

First of all, ask here about Paris. There are such crap stories (almost urban myths) about how rude people are there, they don't speak english,etc.. There is absolutely NO reason for you not to at least consider Paris.

Paris/London is a nice combo (Eurostar between the two). Dublin is not that big, so if Ireland is on your list, I'd plan on renting a car and seeing the countryside.

Have you considered Amsterdam?
Dec 9th, 2010, 09:11 AM