Help a TACKY AMERICAN girl!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 3rd, 2007, 10:33 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Please, oh those of you wiser and more stylish than myself...

I'm about to spend a around two months in Southern Italy and Northern Africa. I've come to accept that no matter what I do I will not look like a local, and am now focusing on trying to figure out how to not look plain ridiculous.

Here's the trouble: I'm 20 and at home I mainly like to wear shorts and tank tops.

Generally, shorts like this: http://www.forever21.com/images/med/29907628-03.jpg
and tank tops like this: http://www.forever21.com/images/med/39751360-03.jpg

Am I hopeless? Should I try to get some nicer clothes before I leave (and what would those items be?) or should I just give up and enjoy my trip regardless of fashion?

I'm a student, and a tacky one at that. Would skirts be an improvement? Something like this, perhaps:http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/image...l/p292844b.jpg

These are my walking/hiking shoes (I feel embarrassed already as I post the link): http://www.zappos.com/images/729/729...8-358782-t.jpg

And my only alternate shoes are a pair of nice-ish cork-and-leather flip flops.

VERY small budget... very self conscious after reading this board

I leave in about a week... please help me!

Thank you for your help!

Old Aug 3rd, 2007, 10:49 PM

I'd save the clothes shopping budget for when you arrive! Then see what feels comfortable and practical for you. There are plenty of shops in Italy with stylish clothes at inexpensive prices.
Old Aug 3rd, 2007, 11:13 PM

Which countries in Northern Africa? It's wise to stay fairly covered-up in most, if not all, of them.

Old Aug 3rd, 2007, 11:15 PM
Original Poster

Tunisia, to clarify.
That is a very good point.
Old Aug 3rd, 2007, 11:15 PM

I'd recommend getting some clothes that cover your upper arms, don't show your breasts off & which reach your knees.