Greece trip - Selection of islands

Old Jun 30th, 2003, 01:48 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Greece trip - Selection of islands

I am still unsure what island to include for my trip in September. Is Mykonos a must ? How about Santorini ? Where can I get a true greek experience in Naxos or Tinos or Paros ? It is my first time over there and I only have 10 days.
Old Jun 30th, 2003, 09:02 AM
brotherleelove2003

Definitely Santorini. In September it will be fairly quiet, the water will still be warm and rooms will be easy to get and priced at low season rates. The views of the caldera from the cliff are spectacular, and the timeless settlement of Oia on the north end of the island is the best place to stay by far.

Old Jun 30th, 2003, 09:19 AM
Original Poster

Thank you for the suggestion,
Do people go to Santorini mainly for the view of the caldera or also for the beach ? I would like to stay by the beach if possible, any ideas ?
Thanks

Old Jun 30th, 2003, 12:12 PM

Santorini does have a beach, but many people go to Santorini for the views.

It would help if we knew more about your interests.

Mykonos is popular for a reason -- good beaches, nightlife, shopping, restaurants, charm, history, etc. Paros is much like Mykonos.

Both Mykonos and Santorini are worthwhile visiting, but for "a true Greek experience," you might want to also mix in time on a less popular island.
Old Jun 30th, 2003, 01:08 PM
Original Poster

Thank you for the suggestions.
How about Naxos first and then Mykonos.
I would like to try greek food, visit some old building but mainly relax on a nice beach. Do you think that Naxos and Mykonos are a good combination ?

Old Jun 30th, 2003, 01:11 PM