Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

French Riviera - 4 Nights in July - Where to stay?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 8th, 2008, 08:35 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,

I am planning a trip to France with my boyfriend this July, and we'd like to end it with 4 nights on the Riviera. We have an early morning flight home out of Nice, so we will spend our last day and night there, but several friends who have been have recommended we stay elsewhere for the other 3 nights. I've lived in France before but have never been to that part of the country, and would love some advice on where to go! We're pretty open to anything, but here's some info that might help:
-We're aware the area is expensive and are willing to splurge a bit, but we're on a relatively tight budget (I'm a full-time graduate student.)
-We are in our mid-20's, and enjoy nightlife and having a good time but aren't crazy partiers. We'd be just as happy with a smaller town off the beaten tourist track(especially if it was cheaper) as a big city, as long as it was easily accessible by train and not far from a city/other interesting locations where we might be able to take a day trip if we are tired of the beach.
-We will just have spent a fair bit of time in Lyon (I'll be studying there and he'll be joining me for the last 5 days of my program.)
-We won't have a car, so accessibility by train/bus is a must.

I'm currently looking into Antibes-Juan les Pins, Cannes, and Menton, but just am not sure where else to look. Any advice you might have about where to stay, what to do, and ESPECIALLY how to make this trip (relatively) affordable would be greatly appreciated!

frenchyface
Old Apr 8th, 2008, 08:50 AM