First timers in Provence

Search

First timers in Provence

Search this Thread

Old Sep 3rd, 2010, 03:02 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First timers in Provence

2 Adults and 1 child (7yrs) travelling by car from Chammonix to the Provence region. We have 7 days to explore this area and not sure whether to base ourselves in one place such as St Remy and do day trips OR do we just keep on moving and try to find places to stay along the way. Confused!!!!

Any suggestions welcome

D
Old Sep 3rd, 2010, 04:27 AM

I am by no means an expert on Provence as we have only made one trip there for about 10 days. However, I do have some thoughts for your trip.

We stayed for 7 days in one location in Gordes and if I had to do it again I would have chosen 2 locations for that length of time such as St Remy and Gordes so as to explore both of these locations. We found after 3-4 days we could have moved on from Gordes as we had really seen what we wanted by then. These hilltowns are rather small and it doesn't take long to explore them.

If I were travelling with a 7 year old I would try to minimize the number of stops I made, perhaps keep it to 2 locations.

Whatever you decide I hope you have a wonderful trip.
Old Sep 3rd, 2010, 06:17 AM
ira

HI didi,

Provence isn't all that large.
I think that when traveling with young children one ought to make as few changes as possible.

We were very happy at Le Cadran Solaire (www.hotel-en-provence.com/uk/index.php) in Graveson, not ar from St. Remy.

See the Provence part of my trip report:
http://www.fodors.com/community/euro...-in-europe.cfm

Old Sep 3rd, 2010, 06:23 AM

Several days near Gordes and several in St Remy is what I always recommend. Good blend of pretty countryside (Gordes/Luberon) & a medium sized village (St Remy) with lots of shops, cafes, restaurants.

We've vacationed in Provence for 18 months.

Stu Dudley
Old Sep 3rd, 2010, 07:16 AM