Driving in Ireland

Feb 2nd, 2006, 05:14 AM
Original Poster

Driving in Ireland

I am going to Ireland in May 2006. I am considering renting a car and driving so I can go at my own pace and stop when I want to.
I want to know if it is difficult to drive in Ireland with everything being opposite of the USA.
The Big question is what is the average price of gasoline. I had heard that it was up to (3) times higher than here.

This answer will really help me put.
Thanks in advance.
Feb 2nd, 2006, 05:28 AM

rlittlerod; a car will give you great freedom to explore Ireland. Our public transport isn't great so I would definitely recommend it. Ireland is extremely small so you can drive from A to B in no time.
As for it being difficult, I suppose it really depends on the individual doing the driving. I have no experience of driving in the USA and, like you, would feel daunted at the thought of it. In saying that, I would do it. I believe in being careful and taking your time to adjust.
Petrol costs between 1.04 - 1.06 (approx) per litre for unleaded and a few cents cheaper for diesel.
Enjoy your trip. We have some beautiful places!!
Feb 2nd, 2006, 05:32 AM

Yes, gas (petrol) is about $5 a gallon, but the cars over there are typically more efficient in gas mileage. HOWEVER... your biggest problem will not be driving on the left -- that is fairly easy to get used to.

The biggest problem in Ireland, and the reason many credit cards won't cover insurance there, is the condition of the roads and the other drivers.

The roads are (except the main thorougfares) windy and narrow, with stone walls or hedgerows right up to the edge, without shoulder or leeway for mistakes. Other drivers are sometimes rather fast, as they are at home and know where they are going... it can be quite harrowing! It isn't impossible (I've been over twice, and drove both times, and am doing so again this summer) but it is unnerving at first. Be warned!