Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Do you recommend visiting the Greek Islands in June or September?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 21st, 2023, 03:15 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm planning to visit the Cyclades islands next year. Do you recommend visiting in June or September?
Old Jul 21st, 2023, 09:52 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If it was me, I'd aim for mid to late September. June will be hot but in our experience by October, the islands are winding down.
Old Jul 21st, 2023, 10:50 PM

If I had a choice (I’m a teacher and travel time is dictated by academic calendar), I’d go in mid to late September. It’ll still be warm and lovely, but I imagine much less crowded.
Old Jul 22nd, 2023, 01:38 AM

Sea temperatures will be much warmer in September, while days are longer in June. I’ve been to the Greek Islands many times in both June and September, and still can’t decide which month is best. If you like being around young families with children pick June. If you like being around older empty nesters pick September.
Old Jul 22nd, 2023, 05:09 AM

In early June, everything is green, there may still fall some rain and the sea water is much too cold for a swim.
In "normal" Cycladic Isalnds (except the tourist traps Mykonos and Santorini) the season begins slowly in mid June (more buses, more excursion boaats and other tourist stuff operating).
After mid Sepember, seawater is still warm, but the air gets slowly cooler and the first rains may appear.
Old Jul 22nd, 2023, 06:41 AM