DAILY BUDGET for Food in Paris?

May 21st, 2008, 04:08 AM
Original Poster

DAILY BUDGET for Food in Paris?

Have always heard how terribly expensive Paris is, and now will know first hand as I get set to tour the city in 5 days with my boyfriend. Can anyone provide any very rough info on a possible daily budget estimate in Euros for food? Maybe very light breakfast, light lunch and dinner at an average restaurant. Like what is the cost of a cup of coffee and a croissant? Thanks.
May 21st, 2008, 04:25 AM

Interesting what you've heard. I've been traveling all over the world for 30+ years and made more than 100 trips to Paris and I've always found it to be one of the most reasonable cities in terms of value for money. That said, I'm not a luxury traveler, and it is true that if you're American you are going to feel the effects of the lousy exchange rate.

Without knowing your definition of "average restaurant," it's hard to say, but if you, for example, go to a neighborhood cafe for a coffee and croissant or tartine you will pay about 4-5 euro for breakfast, possibly less. For lunch you can pick up a crepe or sandwich or fruit and bread and cheese from a market for 5-10 euro. Dinner at an unassuming local place, if you order the plat du jour, could be as inexpensive as 12-15 euro for a simple three-course meal. If you plan carefully, you can eat well for 50 euro or less a day. Or you can spend more, of course.
May 21st, 2008, 04:48 AM

From my trip in Nov 07...

At local cafe, sit down with paper...morning coffee (cafe creme) 4,40 euro...total with croissant and OJ: 9,60

Lunch at outdoor cafe, Place des Vosges...Bavette de veau with lots of veggies, 1/2 bottle Vittel, glass of red wine: 17,20.

Dinner at Chez Clement, St Germain area...Terrine maison, 1/2 bottle Vittel, chicken dinner, sorbet dessert, espresso coffee, glass of red wine: 41 euro