car rental in France

Jun 16th, 2004, 03:28 PM
Original Poster

car rental in France

We will be in Luxonbourg onto Leige then into France toward Alsace and Champagne. Having a hard time finding a rental car that is reasonable. Does anybody have any suggestions? Also how easy is it to travel around northeast france by train? Which would be easier?
This is my first time to France so I need all the help I can get.
Thanks
Jun 16th, 2004, 03:37 PM

Try europebycar.com
Jun 16th, 2004, 06:52 PM

AutoEurope has always come through for us. They're actually a booking service and can find the best rate, which in my experience has often been Europcar.
Jun 16th, 2004, 06:56 PM

We did a not too different trip a couple of years ago (picked up car in Brussels and toured Belgium, Lux, N France and ended up in Frankfort) and found that Hertz had the best deal for type of car we wanted (with the usual corporate discount and class upgrade) because there was no drop off charge.

I find its always best to figure out all the details before going to the car sites - since what look less expensive can turn out to be more when you take fees, taxes etc into account (sometimes its much cheaper to do a trip in reverse, based on tax rates and differential drop off fees.)
Jun 16th, 2004, 08:50 PM

Depending on the length of your trip, you might check out Kemwell. They have good prices for longer rentals.
Jun 16th, 2004, 09:03 PM