car rental company help

Jan 22nd, 2010, 06:28 AM
Original Poster

car rental company help

I have been researching the forums and have found many recommendations for AutoEurope and Kemwel to rent a car. I will be picking up in Bologna on Apr 10th and dropping off in Milan Malpensa Airport on the 15th. I want to drive around the countryside, not train, but I need an automatic and the best price I have found for either company is $725. I found a website for "intaly.com" and they state they work with AE and their price is $539. Does anyone know the reputation of this site? Any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Jan 22nd, 2010, 06:40 AM

I would ask AE about intaly.com. They can either tell you that yes they work with that website or they might just match that price directly. (I think AE has a best price match guaranty.) AE has a toll free number on its website.
Jan 22nd, 2010, 06:52 AM

I think you spelled that wrong. I'm not an Italy expert, but I've heard of that site a lot and think they are fine.

Given they link you to the Autoeurope website, I wonder if what you found is realy some difference in the parameters you put in -- exact location of pickup or time of day or something.

$539 sounds too cheap -- I don't know, if you can get that, I'd take it. Automatic car rentals seem to be particularly expensive in Italy, it seems to me, more than in some other European countries (like France, where I've rented them). They are always more, of course, but not that much.