BEWARE OF AVIS CAR HIRE

Old Jan 9th, 2012, 05:17 AM
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BEWARE OF AVIS CAR HIRE

Travellers should avoid AVIS CAR HIRE at all costs, I recently rented a car at Athens airport for a two week period.

Unfortunately I was forced off the road by a GREEK DRIVER the car sustained minor damage along the near side.

I returned the car to the airport naturally expecting to have to pay an insurance excess charge, imagine my horror to discover the excess was €1000 euro YES @1000EUROS.

IN Other words NO INSURANCE FOR DAMAGE ....

ON TOP OF THIS THE FUEL TANK WAS ONLY HALF FULL.

One again the AVIS CONN KICKED IN !!!!! They charged me for a full tank of fuel at €70-51

I filled this car from the Totally empty light for €75 euro, this included 23% FPR.

THEN AVIS HAD THE AUDACITY TO STEAL FROM ME A FURTHER 23% FPR

SO THEY CHARGED THE FPR (VAT) on this fuel TWICE THISIS THEFT AND I HAVE INFORMED THE GREEK FPR Tax Authorities.

GO TO EUROPACAR THEY WILL GIVE YOU A FAIR DEAL WITHOUT STEELING FROM YOU
PalmerAJ is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 05:48 AM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,026
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Palmer and welcome to Fodors. Nice that you joined so you could post this. We are all a bunch of really nice people who like to sit around and compliment each other on great posts. If I may be so bold though,

DID YOU READ THE CONTRACT!?! Oops, I'm sorry but it seems to me that pretty much every auto contract lists the deductible.

Wait, wait, I feel another attack coming on...

HAVE YOU EVER RENTED A CAR BEFORE!?! Whew, don't know where that came from. See, there is this thing that rental companies tell you about, that fill up thing. Pretty much anyone that has ever rented a car knows about this scam and fills up prior to drop-off or bites the bullet.

Anyway, glad you enjoyed your trip. Oh, and we'll be having our afternoon tea and effigy burning of Avis at 3pm GMT tomorrow.



dave
daveesl is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 06:05 AM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,356
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This is your first post, and all you want to share is your bad experience with Avis?

I have rented cars from Avis Greece many many times in the last 20 years, not even once have i faced a problem.
This is why i prefer to book from Avis also when i travel abroad.( and got never disappointed)

What probably happened to you, is that you had only a regular Collision damage waiver, so you had to pay your participation of 750 Euro plus 23% VAT. ( Look at the term and conditions of Avis, at www.avis.gr)

That means that the damage maybe wasn't as minor as you think it was.
clausar is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 06:31 AM
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 49,560
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What does a GREEK DRIVER have to do with anything? You were in an accident, the car sustained damage, and you didn't have proper insurance for it. Your fault, not Avis's.

Anytime you rent a car in Europe, whether through Avis or another company, you're obligated to return it with a full tank of gas or you'll get hosed in costs by the rental company to refill it. Your fault, not Avis's.

Next time, read the contract and comply with it.
StCirq is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 09:32 AM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,026
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yeah StCirq, can you imagine...a GREEK DRIVER driving in GREECE? I mean I could forgive a driver from Estonia or China or the US, but GREECE? Whew, no wonder the OP was upset.

Darn, there goes my non-snarky award for the week.



dave
daveesl is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 09:40 AM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12,844
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
daveesl, you did a wonderful job of enlighting the OP. I caught just a hint of attitude but nary a snare of snarkiness. I vote that you are still in the running for the award of the week.
ziggypop is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 09:47 AM
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 49,560
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
daveesl -

At least the OP informed the GREEK Tax Authorities (and not the Estonian, Chinese,or U.S. ones). That's sure to fix everything!
StCirq is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 10:00 AM
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This posting about Avis is all Greek to me.
jose0 is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 11:56 AM
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 57,886
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Suggest you:

1) Quite whining
2) In future read the contracts you sign
3) Understand that in europe VAT is applied to everything
4) Pay attention when you rent a car - every agency in every country I have been in charges you at an outrageous rate for fuel if you dont return the car full
nytraveler is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 11:59 AM
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 34,900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Aside from that Avis is a franchise, so any complaints would be about one place, or at least one general area/country as to practices. What happens in Avis in Greece is irrelevant to Avis in other countries.
Christina is offline  
Old Jan 9th, 2012, 12:15 PM
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,356
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Christina
Avis ( franchise or not) has Terms and Conditions that apply to every rental agreement-contract.
When renting a car, the first thing one should do, is to read these terms and conditions.
Avis is Avis no matter where !!! Avis Europe has almost no differences in their terms and Conditions, as they are following the general policy of the company.
clausar is offline  
Old Jul 7th, 2013, 05:03 PM
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,765
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You should always inspect any car that you are renting as you pick it up and have the company document existing scratches, dings, dents, etc. I don't think your problem is specific to Avis/Budget.

I just rented a car from Avis in Europe and had no difficulties at all.
KTtravel is offline  
Old Jul 7th, 2013, 05:28 PM
  #13  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 57,886
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
One needs to always do their due diligence when renting a car.

this includes:

Checking the car for damage, taking a photo and having it noted by the agent if there is any

understanding your contract and what you will be responsible for in the case of an accident

realizing that every rental company in the world charges a fortune for gas if you return the car with the tank not full (unless you have proof that you received the car that way)
nytraveler is offline  
Old Jul 7th, 2013, 07:27 PM
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,500
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
We have rented from Avis in Athens on three occasions and had no problems, nor did we experience problems with them in Germany or Austria. EuropCar is actually the only rental company that has caused us a headache by charging bogus charges to our credit card months after the rental, which AutoEurope took care of for us.
TexasAggie is offline  
Old Jul 8th, 2013, 06:49 AM
  #15  
ira
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 74,699
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
> assumed the company was aware of this. <

Never assume, because if you do you make an ass out of u & me.

Always take photos of the car before you leave the garage.
Make sure that the agent has signed off on all damage.
Read the contract.
Stop whining.

ira is offline  
Old Jul 8th, 2013, 07:04 AM
  #16  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,561
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
<< We noted a small scratch at the back of the car, but assumed the company was aware of this.>>

Then you're a fool. Any blemish = tell the car company immediately. This is true in the US.

And the tank refill screw job is part and parcel of the rental contract in the US too. Anyone who doesn't expect the same in Europe is just not paying attention.
BigRuss is offline  
Old Jul 8th, 2013, 08:30 AM
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,030
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The two posters who are lambasting Avis are both one-time posters. What car rental company is putting these trolls out there me wonders...
skatedancer is offline  
Old Jul 8th, 2013, 11:24 AM
  #18  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 57,886
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Don't think it has anything to do with other rental companies. Just people who go through life clueless - and then are amazed/horrified/scandalized and hysterical when expected to follow the same rules as everyone else.
nytraveler is offline  
Old Nov 12th, 2013, 09:22 AM
  #19  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 985
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Two things everyone should do when renting a car:

(1) Use a credit card that provides rental car insurance. The credit card will then reimburse you for the deductible.

(2) If you see a scratch... at the minimum, take a picture of it, or - better - a series of pictures showing that you're in the rental company's lot. Make sure the picture is time stamped. This will be evidence enough to win any case.
travelhorizons is offline  
Old Nov 12th, 2013, 10:14 AM
  #20  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 42,716
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The ONE thing that everyone who rents a car should do is:

remember that they are the ones who rented the car and nobody really cares that they had some bad experience because they were too lazy to do their homework/due diligence/whatever you want to call it.
Dukey1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Your Privacy Choices -