Berlin suggestions

Search

Berlin suggestions

Search this Thread

Old Jan 24th, 2007, 07:29 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Berlin suggestions

We are thinking about going to Berlin for 2 or 3 nights in September. I haven't been to Berlin since the fall of the wall. Is the Checkpoint Charlie museum still there?
What I am really looking for are suggestions on what to do there. When I was there, I was a student and and we just hung out and went to the bars. We are looking for historical stuff and "sightseeing" things to do. Any ideas??
Old Jan 24th, 2007, 07:44 AM
sjj

If you're interested in antiquities, the Pergamon Museum on the Museum Insull, about a mile east of the Branderburg Gate, has a Greek temple frieze that makes the Elgin Marbles look sick and a fascinating reconstruction of the Ishtar Gate from ancient Iraq.
You can find other attractions in "Berlin", an Eyewitness Travel Guide, by Malgorzata Omilanowska.
Old Jan 25th, 2007, 05:12 AM

The checkpoint charlie museum is still there. Check out the Brandenburg Gate, Holocost Museum, Jewish Museum, Museum Island...there are many historical sites and they are listed in every tourbook.
Have fun.
Old Jan 25th, 2007, 05:22 AM

Ich bin ein berliner!!I love the place. Fond memories, though 10yrs old.Envy you.
More details here:
http://www.berlin.de/museumsfuehrer.en/index.html
Old Jan 26th, 2007, 03:11 PM