Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Bed & Breakfast Etiquette - Does one tip?

Old Sep 1st, 2013, 08:01 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am going to England next week. I have never stayed in bed and breakfasts before but am looking foward to this experience. Being a newbie I am wondering how one tips? I don't know if this is handled differently than in hotels. Is there anything else I should be clued into? I do want to do what's proper.
Thanks for your help.
Old Sep 1st, 2013, 08:09 AM

Simple answer: no, you don't tip anyone in a B&B. For what it's worth, it's unusual to tip in hotels in the UK either (apart from in the restaurant). I will now be contradicted by the usual crowd of non-UK residents who disagree and apparently know more about this than someone who lives in the UK and has stayd in countless hotels and B&B's here... (PS, they're still wrong).
Old Sep 1st, 2013, 08:13 AM

No tipping. No need for it - non whatsoever. It's not expected. The occasion doesn't occur -it really doesn't. When would you tip - you'll carry your own bags, you only eat breakfast. Housekeeping - no don't really don't.
Old Sep 1st, 2013, 08:15 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I've never tipped in the UK either. If I was staying a long time (a couple of weeks) I might just consider leaving something for the bed makers, however, I have never done so. So like Gordon, no.

If I was staying in a hotel and used their restaurant I would not tip, but I would if I went outside to another restaurant, even here I would only round up with a max of 10%, cash on table. If mandatory "service charge" or "table charge" was included then no tip. If the service charge or table charge was mentioned on the menu outside I would probably walk by.

In the UK we generally like things to be priced as they are priced and legislation is in place to keep it that way as much as possible. Added extras are "seen" very badly by the Brits.