Backpacking through the UK and Europe

Feb 2nd, 2010, 09:57 AM
Original Poster

Backpacking through the UK and Europe

Hi guys!
I am planning to backpack through France, Germany, Ireland and the UK in the spring and I need all the help I can get! I am planning on doing the hostel thing, and other than that I don't have any solid plans.
Do you guys have any tips, or have found any hidden gems that are off the beaten track that I could keep in mind on my tour? I am very new at this and I would be super grateful if you could help in any way.

Thanks!
Feb 2nd, 2010, 10:51 AM

My first suggestion - though you'll find helpful advice here, the Thorntree forum over at Lonely Planet (http://www.lonelyplanet.com/thorntree/index.jspa) has a much higher percentage of posters doing this kind of traveling, so you may find that one even more useful.

Some questions: Do you know how long you'll be traveling? Planning on rail passes, air travel? How much of a budget, specifically?

My experience is somewhat dated, as I did this sort of thing ten years ago, but I think a lot of it would still hold. Besides packing light, getting a good backpack and shoes, I'd plan a route. Some people like to just fly by the seat of their pants, and if you have six months or so to do it, that can be fine. But my trip was only two weeks, so I really had to figure out what there was to see in each place, how to get there and some places to stay. (I'm of the mind that I'd rather make reservations or at least narrow down my options than wander around for precious hours figuring out where I'll sleep. Not everyone agrees with me, but I think especially if you only have a few weeks, that's a good way to go.)

Also, think of your trip as cities/towns, not countries. Seeing the UK is different than seeing London. Seeing Dublin is quite different than visiting the southwest of Ireland. You get the idea. Think about what mix of cities, towns, countryside you want. Why did you pick these countries?