Amsterdam and where else?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 22nd, 2004, 08:09 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm leaving for 11 days to on a solo trip to Europe, flying in and out of Amsterstam. I'm female, 25. Any ideas outside of Amsterdam on places to go? Berlin, Paris, London, Munich are some of the places I had in mind (not all obviously). Thanks.
Old Mar 22nd, 2004, 08:33 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
As a female solo traveler, I'll chime in. I'd do Amsterdam for the first 4 days, explore, get over your jet lag, regroup, then go to Paris for 6 days, with 1 night at the end back in Amsterdam to get to the airport in the morning. I'm no expert but these are cities I've done with ease & pleasure!
Old Mar 22nd, 2004, 08:44 PM
jor

Take the first train out of Amsterdam and head south. Get back to Amsterdam on the morning of your flight out of there.
Old Mar 22nd, 2004, 11:17 PM

Defnitely go to Paris.

It's very easy to take a train form Amsterdam to Paris--the Thalys has very nice, comfortable trains that will have you to Paris in a few hours. Out of all the places you've named, it's the easiest to get to and has the most to offer (in my opinion).

London is also easy to get to--but by plane. Go to www.easyjet.com (yes they are a real airline) and you may see some supercheap airfares. But London itself is an extremeely expensive city, so any costs savings will soon fly out the window.

I would save Berlin and Munich for another trip--in my opinion, London and Paris are the "majors" of European cities and it's just so great to see them first (I'm assuminhg you haven't been to see London and Paris before, so correct me if I'm wrong).

Have fun!
Old Mar 22nd, 2004, 11:24 PM

I think it is cutting it too close to advise the original poster to get back to Amsterdam the morning of the flight.

What if there is a delay or a strike? I'd suggest returning the previous day at least.
Old Mar 22nd, 2004, 11:33 PM

lindsay,