5 day tript to Scotland

Aug 10th, 2011, 12:33 PM
Original Poster

5 day tript to Scotland

I am planning to take a tript to Scotland this September. Driving is not an option so I will have to rely on public transport. The itinerary is:

Day1-Birmingham to Edinburgh by train-local sightseeing at Edinburgh
Day2 & 3-take a 2 day trip to Lochness and Inverness-stay in Inverness for a night on Day 2-return to Edinburgh on Day 3
Day 4-Take a day trip to central Highlands, waterfalls in Birnam forest, Pitlochry, the Queen's View and Loch Tay
Day 5- Haven't planned yet-open to suggestions-retutn to Birmingham at night by train

I am looking for suggestions on the itinerary. Also advice on good and reasonable B&B options in both Edinburgh and Inverness would be much appreciated. The B&B should be at max a 15-20 minutes walk from Edinburgh City centre.

And also some advice on the best day tour deals. I am new to Uk and this is my first trip. So I am open to any advice on the trip.

Regards,

Aditya
Aug 10th, 2011, 01:38 PM

Aditya

Have just got back from a week touring Scotland - staying in a different place every night. Inverness was the only place that really disappointed us, there really was nothing we liked about it. We did stay in Dores on the quiet side of Loch Ness and enjoyed it but you are not giving yourself much time in Ediburgh, which we loved and have been to a few times now. For suggestions on good B&Bs I always use Tripadvisor and each of the 3 B&Bs we stayed in on this trip were excellent.
Aug 10th, 2011, 01:54 PM

I rented an apartment in Edinburgh though most are 3 days or more, I found mine through trip advisor.

In terms of things to do in the city I loved the Adam Lyall ghost tour and this free walking tour meets in the middle of the Royal Mile and was fantastic http://www.newedinburghtours.com/
Aug 10th, 2011, 02:06 PM